Fourth of July is coming up, and many people wonder what fireworks are legal in Utah. You need to understand the fireworks laws in Utah to know what fireworks are permitted to buy and use.
Only "consumer fireworks" are legal to purchase and use in Utah. "Consumer fireworks" are defined as fireworks designed to be used by the general public for personal enjoyment. This includes things like bottle rockets, roman candles, and sparklers.
Illegal fireworks in Utah fly, explode or travel more than 15 feet on the ground. This includes firecrackers, bottle rockets, roman candles, mines, cherry bombs, mortar shells, aerial shells, M-80s, M-100s, blockbusters, and torpedoes.
If you are planning on using fireworks for the Fourth
of July, be sure to check with your local city or county government to see if
there are any restrictions on their use. Many cities and counties have
ordinances that restrict the use of fireworks. For instance, fireworks may be
prohibited entirely in some cities or only allowed during certain hours on the
Fourth of July. Be sure to follow all local laws and regulations when using
Utah State Fireworks Laws
It is against the law to sell, possess, or use fireworks in Utah without a permit. Penalties for violating this law can be up to $10,000 and five years in jail if you are caught selling, possessing, or using fireworks without a permit.
To get a permit to sell, possess, or use fireworks in Utah, you must apply for one from the Utah State Fire Marshal's Office. The application process for a fireworks permit is detailed on the Utah State Fire Marshal's website. Only businesses registered with the Utah Department of Commerce can apply for a fireworks permit.
You must be 16 years of age or older to purchase, possess, or use fireworks in Utah. Fireworks may be purchased from June 24-July 24 and December 10-January 2. They may be used from July 2-5 and December 31-January 1.
You can buy fireworks from another state and bring them into Utah, but you can only use them if they meet the criteria for "consumer fireworks." If the fireworks are not "consumer fireworks," they must be transported out of state within 48 hours.
If you decide to use fireworks, please be sure to follow these safety tips:
· Adults should always supervise fireworks activities. Parents don't realize that there are many injuries to children from sparklers. Sparklers burn at temperatures of about 2,000 degrees - hot enough to melt some metals
Keep a safe distance from fireworks when lighting the
fuse. A safe distance is typically listed on the fireworks packaging
Where Can I Buy Fireworks in Utah
We sell various fireworks accessories 30 days before July 4 and December 31. If you wonder what fireworks you can buy in Utah, visit our online store at www.fireworks.us. At Fireworks.US, we ship a wide selection of fireworks for multiple devices from all the warehouses. Our experts will offer detailed information on how to use fireworks safely.
Make your order today; no need to wait until the last minute. Visit our online store to buy your fireworks today.