California state law fireworks divide fireworks into 'sane and safe' and dangerous fireworks. Safe and sane fireworks categories are sold by licensed retailers between June 28- and July 6 every year. The public can set them, but they are subject to various limitations.On the other hand, dangerous fireworks are illegal but are allowed for use by a licensed operator. They comprise large items such as sparklers and rockets with a length beyond 10 inches or a diameter beyond one-quarter inch.
What Are Considered Fireworks
According to California State Law, fireworks are a device that:
· Produce mechanical, visual, audible, or thermal pyrotechnic effects for entertainment.
· Contain chemical elements that don't need oxygen for burning, unlike average combustible items.
Expressly Permitted Fireworks in California (safe and sane fireworks):
· Cylindrical and cone fountains
· Ground spinners
· Ground and hand-held sparkling devices
· Flitter sparklers not exceeding a quarter diameter or 10-inch length
· Illuminating torch
· Toy smoke device
· Party poopers
Fireworks Prohibited in California (Dangerous Fireworks):
· Surprise items
· Sparklers above one-fourth of an inch diameter or 10 inches
· Roman candles and any other item emit fire in the air.
· Friction items
· Wooden and all wire stick
Other Limitations of Fireworks
Despite limiting the types of fireworks, you can sell or buy in California, the state incorporates other restrictions.
· Wildlife and Agricultural uses
Despite the limited safe and sane fireworks for entertainment use, farmers are allowed to discharge and possess specific types of fireworks to scare off animals and birds to prevent crop damage. Such items comprise small explosives which produce noise that scares away animals and birds or flash pots that serves the same purpose. However, any farmer looking to use such fireworks will have to obtain a permit from the state.
· Limited Dates of Selling
Although safe and sane fireworks are legally sold in California, they're only sold for a certain period each year. All retailers dealing with safe and sane fireworks can only sell them from 28th June noon to 6th July noon every year. The license to sell these products automatically expires at noon on July 6 and must be renewed yearly by June 15.
· No Sale to Underage
In California state is
unlawful to sell safe and sane fireworks to individuals below the age of 16.
According to Cal.Health and Safety Code 12689 (2020)
Violating the California
State Fireworks Law is a misdemeanor crime that can result in a fine ranging
from $500-$1000, a one-year jail term, or both. The penalties for possession of
large amounts of dangerous fireworks are higher than selling to minors.
Where To Purchase Fireworks in California
Although there are significant legal outcomes of violating the California State Laws, there is also a high risk of physical injury leading to a long and tragic effect. As a host, you might be held responsible for firework injuries.Therefore, you need to purchase legal and safe fireworks for your occasion from a reliable source, and that's where we come in as licensed dealers offering quality products. However, we don't ship from warehouse B due to certain restrictions.
Contact us today to get safe and sane fireworks only. Our experts will be accountable and glad to advise on the usage. Visit our website at www.fireworks.us to make your order.