Yes, you can buy fireworks in West Virginia. However,
there are some restrictions on what types of fireworks are legal to purchase.
Local laws vary depending on your local fire department or police department's
regulations, so it's always best to check with them first before purchasing any
West Virginia State Fireworks Laws
You must be 18 years of age or older to purchase fireworks in West Virginia, and you must present your national identity card. There is no minimum age to use fireworks, but any child using fireworks must be supervised by an adult.
The general rule is to buy fireworks in Washington state from June 1 through July 31 and from December 10 through January 1. However, local laws may vary, so it's always best to check with your local fire department or police department first.
The following types of fireworks are legal to purchase or use in West Virginia: sky lanterns, bottle rockets, Roman candles, firecrackers, spinners, stick sparklers, fountains, wheels, ground spinners, novelties, smoke bombs, reloadable shells, helicopter and aerial spinners, snakes, parachutes, multi-aerial mines devices, missile-type rockets, skyrockets, sparkling devices including wire, and fountain sparklers, torpedoes, and shells devices.
It is unlawful for any person to sell, possess, discharge, or use fireworks within the state of West Virginia, except for the following: Any cylindrical or cone fountains which are not capable of being discharged more than six feet in the air, illuminating torches and dipped sticks, and sparkling handheld devices that are nonexplosive and nonaerial.
To display fireworks in West Virginia, you need to
apply for a license from local authorities and State Fire Marshal 15 days
before the date.
Penalties For Illegal Use of Fireworks In West Virginia
Any person who violates the provisions of this section is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be fined not less than fifty dollars nor more than five hundred dollars or jail time of not more than thirty days, or both.
Penalties for violating the law include a fine of up to
$500 and 30 days in jail. Local ordinances may be more restrictive. Always
check with your local fire department or police department to determine what is
allowed in your area.
Notwithstanding any other provision of this code to the contrary, a municipality may enact a more restrictive law than the provisions of this section. For instance, a city may pass a law prohibiting the use of fireworks within its borders.
It is illegal to discharge fireworks:
· On another person's property without their permission.
· Within 100 yards of an occupied building or vehicle.
Within 200 yards of a fireworks stand or tent.
Where Can I Buy Fireworks In West Virginia
If you are wondering where to purchase fireworks, look no further. We are reliable fireworks dealers. We offer a wide variety of fireworks, from sparklers and fountains to mines and shells. We are open all year round, and we ship across West Virginia. However, despite having no product restrictions, we cannot ship from warehouse B due to fireworks laws.
For more inquiries about fireworks and to place your order visit our website at www.fireworks.us today.